Episode 5: Granola Bars (Wheat-, Dairy-, and Soy-Free)

In the length of time I have not posted any new recipes, I’ve discovered that I also cannot eat wheat, tapioca, and quite a few other things. So I’ve been modifying quite a few recipes, and searching for already existing recipes I can use. Here is one that my kids love. I can’t eat these very often because oats are on my ‘eat only infrequently’ list, but they’re a handy snack to have for rushed mornings and crazy trips where I really need to have something to feed the kids. And my mother-in-law is allergic to wheat and asked me for the recipe after I gave her a few of these, so here it is! 🙂

Ingredients

  • 3c rolled oats
  • 3/4c packed brown sugar
  • 1/2c ground flax seeds
  • 3/4tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1c almond flour
  • 3/4c golden raisins
  • 3/4c Craisins
  • 1c pecans or walnuts
  • 3/4tsp salt
  • 1/2c honey
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2c melted coconut oil
  • 2tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Line a bar pan (or 9”x13” pan if you do not have a bar pan) with parchment paper.
  3. In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients. Make a hole in the center of the mixture and pour in the wet ingredients. Mix well.
  4. Evenly distribute the mixture into the pan and pat it down firmly, making sure that it is spread evenly to the edges.
  5. Bake for 30-40 minutes, until the bars just begin to brown at the edges.
  6. Cool for 10 minutes in pan, then remove carefully using parchment paper. Cut into bars immediately or they may become too hard to cut once cool.
This entry was posted in bars, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

